• a4ng3l@lemmy.world
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    34
    arrow-down
    4
    ·
    2 days ago

    I’m curious who’s bankrolling them for this one.

    They are not the same as Noyb who actually are very transparent and actually « believe » in something : these dudes are closer to insurance claims chasers from what I read about them.

    Also I love their Q&A that states that they don’t get money from this

    No. The Consumenten Competition Claims Foundation is a non-profit foundation.

    Someone is absolutely paying them for the action it’s literally 5 questions above and is Winward NL. And they go back to my ambulance chaser parallel since it’s just a company doing litigation finance.

    There’s nothing showing links from those guys to broader financial interests but that would not be out of the possibilities.

    • chameleon@fedia.io
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      15
      ·
      2 days ago

      A different FAQ item mentions Winward NL Limited is in the Cayman Islands, which is a really nice place if you would want to hide such links. But yeah, could also be a bunch of individuals just looking for some extra yachts (bonus irony if they buy them from Gaben’s yacht company).

      • a4ng3l@lemmy.world
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        10
        ·
        2 days ago

        Indeed.

        From their page (https://www.winward.uk/about) they are funded by Rocade Capital. Rocade Capital itself links to EJF Capital and Barings.

        It all could be unethical gambling based on the last Epics shenanigans… Maybe the chances to get a jugement favouring them is now statistically higher than against them.