• Tetsuo@jlai.lu
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    22
    arrow-down
    1
    ·
    edit-2
    5 hours ago

    Ah it is indeed yet another gog-games domain… Not to confuse with gog-games.org.

    Also while searching for the .to website I just saw a report of a user suspecting a malware infection after downloading a game there.

    Honestly, seeing how many websites share similar domains I would be very cautious browsing them…

    But the banner is indeed real.

    Edit : For more transparency, Here is the reddit post being suspicious about this site :

    https://www.reddit.com/r/PiratedGames/comments/1qb0whb/goggamesto_is_safe_not/

    But there is also reports that says its safe for the games but to be careful with the ads on the site that might lead to dangerous stuff. Probably a good idea to browse with a decent adblocker at least.

    • Yglorba@lemmy.dbzer0.com
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      2
      ·
      5 hours ago

      https://gog-games.to/ is a well-known site with a good reputation (but also, because Gog’s games are signed, they couldn’t slip malware into them without being caught anyway, which is part of the reason they have a good reputation in the first place. There’s enough eyes on them that if they’d ever altered any of the game they put on their site they’d have been caught immediately.)