• crunchy@lemmy.dbzer0.com
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    175
    ·
    21 hours ago

    gog-games is a piracy site that hosts torrents for games on GOG. The real GOG isn’t shutting down.

    • Tetsuo@jlai.lu
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      23
      arrow-down
      1
      ·
      edit-2
      20 hours ago

      Edit : The banner was on a different website gog-games.to

      Even on gog-games i can’t see that banner.

      Neither on the official gog.

      In fact I don’t see OP banner on any GOG related website. And not on any site using the same logo at the top.

        • Tetsuo@jlai.lu
          link
          fedilink
          English
          arrow-up
          22
          arrow-down
          1
          ·
          edit-2
          5 hours ago

          Ah it is indeed yet another gog-games domain… Not to confuse with gog-games.org.

          Also while searching for the .to website I just saw a report of a user suspecting a malware infection after downloading a game there.

          Honestly, seeing how many websites share similar domains I would be very cautious browsing them…

          But the banner is indeed real.

          Edit : For more transparency, Here is the reddit post being suspicious about this site :

          https://www.reddit.com/r/PiratedGames/comments/1qb0whb/goggamesto_is_safe_not/

          But there is also reports that says its safe for the games but to be careful with the ads on the site that might lead to dangerous stuff. Probably a good idea to browse with a decent adblocker at least.

          • Yglorba@lemmy.dbzer0.com
            link
            fedilink
            English
            arrow-up
            2
            ·
            5 hours ago

            https://gog-games.to/ is a well-known site with a good reputation (but also, because Gog’s games are signed, they couldn’t slip malware into them without being caught anyway, which is part of the reason they have a good reputation in the first place. There’s enough eyes on them that if they’d ever altered any of the game they put on their site they’d have been caught immediately.)